Sol Katz Award 2016 – Call for Nominations

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for the 2016 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.

The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software (GFOSS) will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the GFOSS community. Recipients of the award will have contributed significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large body of work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early GFOSS archive provided both source code and applications freely available to the community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin’s Lymphoma, but his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol’s family’s request, can do so at

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to [] with a description of the reasons for this nomination. Nominations will be accepted until [ 23:59 UTC on August 4th]. A recipient will be decided from the nomination list by an OSGeo designated selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software will be announced at the FOSS4G-Bonn event in August. The hope is that the award will both acknowledge the work of community members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to come.

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members are not eligible.

Past Awardees:

* 2015: Maria Brovelli
* 2014: Gary Sherman
* 2013: Arnulf Christl
* 2012: Venkatesh Raghavan
* 2011: Martin Davis
* 2010: Helena Mitasova
* 2009: Daniel Morissette
* 2008: Paul Ramsey
* 2007: Steve Lime
* 2006: Markus Neteler
* 2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee 2016

* Venkatesh Raghavan (chair)
* Frank Warmerdam
* Markus Neteler
* Steve Lime
* Paul Ramsey
* Sophia Parafina
* Daniel Morissette
* Helena Mitasova
* Martin Davis
* Arnulf Christl
* Gary Sherman
* Maria Brovelli

OSGeo Sponsors

View all sponsors