OSGeo-Live 6.0 Released

Version 6.0 of the OSGeo-Live GIS software
has been released, and will be officially
launched at OSGIS 2012, the Open
Source GIS conference in Nottingham, UK, 4-5 September.


All geospatial applications on the disc have been updated to
their latest stable releases.
OpenJDK 7
All OSGeo-Live java applications have been successfully migrated to OpenJDK
7. Migration to OpenJDK was driven by Oracle’s announcement that
including Sun Java in Linux distributions, such as Ubuntu, or
OSGeo-Live, is no longer allowed.
There has been significant activity
translating OSGeo-Live documentation. Core documents are
available in ten languages, and comprehensive translations are
available for many other languages, including: Catalan (new),
Chinese (new), English, French (new), German,
Greek, Italian (new), Japanese, Korean (new),
Polish, Spanish
Xubuntu 12.04 LTS
The Xubuntu base has been upgraded to 12.04 LTS (Long Term


OSGeo-Live is a self-contained bootable DVD, USB flash drive and
Virtual Machine based upon Ubuntu Linux that is pre-configured
with a wide variety of robust open source geospatial software. The
applications can be trialled without installing anything on your
computer, simply by booting the computer from a DVD or USB drive,
or running in a Virtual Machine environment. An accompanying
collection of lightning presentations
introduce the breadth and depth of Free and Open Source for

OSGeo-Live includes:

  • Fifty Quality Geospatial Open Source applications installed
    and pre-configured
  • Free world maps and geodata
  • One page overview and quick start guide for every
  • Overviews of key OGC standards
  • Translations for multiple languages


Over 120 people have directly helped with OSGeo-Live packaging,
documenting and translating, and thousands have been involved in
building the packaged software.

Packagers, documenters and translators include:

Activity Workshop, Agustín Dí­ez, Aikaterini Kapsampeli, Alan
Boudreault, Alessandro Furieri, Alex Mandel, Alexandre Dube, Amy
Gao, Andrea Antonello, Andrea Yanza, Angelos Tzotsos, Anna Muñoz,
Anne Ghisla, Anton Patrushev, Argyros Argyridis, Assumpcio
Termens, Astrid Emde, Barry Rowlingson, Benjamin Pross, Brian
Hamlin, Bruno Binet, Cameron Shorter, Christophe Tufféry, Christos
Iossifidis, Cristhian Pin, Dane Springmeyer, Daniel Kastl, David
Mateos, Diego González, Dimitar Misev, Dominik Helle, Edgar
Soldin, Eike Hinderk Jrrens, Eric Lemoine, Estela Llorente,
Etienne Delay, Etienne Dube, Fran Boon, François Prunayre, Frank
Gasdorf, Frank Warmerdam, Gavin Treadgold, Grald Fenoy, Hamish
Bowman, Haruyuki Seki, Henry Addo, Hernan Olivera, Howard Butler,
Hyeyeong Choe, Ian Turton, Jackie Ng, Jan Drewnak, Javier Sánchez,
Jesús Gómez, Jim Klassen, Jing Wang, Jinsongdi Yu, Jody Garnett,
Johan Van de Wauw, Jorge Arévalo, Jorge Sanz, José Antonio
Canalejo, Judit Mays, Klokan Petr Pridal, Kristof Lange, Lance
McKee, Lars Lingner, Luca Delucchi, Lucía Sanjaime, Mage Whopper,
Manuel Grizonnet, Marc Torres, Marc-André Barbeau, Marco Curreli,
Marco Puppin, Margherita Di Leo, Maria Vakalopoulou, Mario Andino,
Mark Leslie, Massimo Di Stefano, Mauricio Miranda, Mauricio Pazos,
Micha Silver, Michaël Michaud, Michael Owonibi, Mike Adair, Milena
Nowotarska, Nacho Varela, Nathaniel V. Kelso, Ned Horning,
Nobusuke Iwasaki, Oliver Tonnhofer, Òscar Fonts, Otto Dassau,
Pasquale Di Donato, Paul Meems, Pedro-Juan Ferrer, Pirmin
Kalberer, Raf Roset, Ricardo Pinho, Roald de Wit, Roberto Antolín,
Roger Veciana, Ruth Schoenbuchner, Samuel Mesa, Sergio Baños,
Simon Cropper, Simon Pigot, Stefan A. Tzeggai, Stefan Hansen,
Stefan Steiniger, Stephan Meissl, Steve Lime, Thierry Badard,
Thomas Baschetti, Thomas Gratier, Tom Kralidis, Toshikazu Seto,
Trevor Wekel, Valenty González, Xianfeng Song, Yoichi Kayama,
Zhengfan Lin


OSGeo Sponsors

View all sponsors